TFSG, founded in 1994, is a group of 40 people who have spent time outside of America with America's Foreign Service, academia, or business, or as an accompanying family member.
TFSG presents four luncheons with speakers and one members-only luncheon each year. This website lists the speakers with bibliographies that TFSG members write to accompany each speech. It also features links to international databases, publications, think tanks, and published works by members and speakers
.

Links

Additional international data sources 
Type   Name Web Site Information
         
Organization   U.S. Dept. of State www.state.gov

    U.S. Government www.data.gov All the information anyone could ever need on the U S A, or at least our government  
    GPO (U.S. Government Printing Office) www.gpo.gov/fdsys/  
    American Foreign Service Association www.afsa.org  
    Peace Corps www.peacecorps.gov  
    DACOR www.dacorbacon.org An organization of foreign affairs professionals
    The Institute for Civility in Government www.InstituteForCivility.org  
    LBJ School of Public Affairs, UT www.utexas.edu/lbj  
    Robert S. Strauss Center for International Security and Law, UT www.strausscenter.org  
    Austin Newcomers www.austinnewcomers.com 400 links for visitors and newcomers
International Coverage

U.S. based

Foreign Affairs magazine www.foreignaffairs.com Published by the Council on Foreign Relations
    Breaking Defense www.breakingdefense.com  
  U.S. based Reuters www.reuters.com Latest news from around the world, covering breaking news in business, politics, entertainment, technology, video and pictures.
  French based France24 www.france24.com International news 24/7
    HAARETZ.com www.haaretz.com English language site for Israel and Mid East news
  Internationally based Gateway House www.gatewayhouse.in Indian Council on Global Relations
    Eurasia Net www.eurasiagroup.net  
    Geopolitical Monitor www.geopoliticalmonitor.com  
 

 

worldnewsconnect.net www.worldnewsconnect.net

Over 120 news sources from around the world

  U.S. based DOS magazine www.state.gov/m/dghr/
statemag/
 
    Foreign Policy magazine www.foreignpolicy.com  
    Quartz

https://qz.com

A digitally native news outlet for the new global economy
  Retired diplomats in Research Triangle area, N.C. American Diplomacy www.unc.edu/depts/diplomat/ Electronic journal of commentary and analysis on international issues
    Al Jazeera (in English) english.aljazeera.net Live feeds from Cairo
  Internationally based BBC www.bbc.co.uk  
    Monocle magazine www.monocle.com A briefing on global affairs, business, culture, & design
    The Economist magazine www.economist.com  
    Stratfor www.stratfor.com Global intelligence, non-political and non-ideological
    The Guardian www.guardian.co.uk  
Countries Canada Connect2Canada www.connect2canada.com  
  Mexico various sites for Mexican centers, such as educational institutions, foundations, think tanks Mexican sites  
Think Tanks U.S. based Center for Strategic and International Studies csis.org Providing strategic insights and bipartisan policy solutions to decision makers
  U.S. based Brookings Institution www.brookings.edu Top ranked think tank in the world
  U.S. based Belfer Center belfercenter.ksg.harvard.edu/ Harvard's center on international and science affairs
  U.S. based Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI)

www.esri.com

A non-profit think tank that produces and writes about visual messages such as maps
  U.S. based Foreign Policy Research Institute

www.fpri.org

Adding perspective to events by fitting them into the larger historical and cultural context of international politics
  London-based Chatham House

www.chathamhouse.org

Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs, is an independent policy institute based in London.
  U.S. based Rand Corporation

www.rand.org

A think tank for policy and decision making
    The Carnegie Endowment http://carnegieendowment.org  
    American Academy of Diplomacy

www.academyofdiplomacy.org

 
International Service Organizations with a Texas group  

The Friendship Force - HQ

www.the friendshipforce.org

 

 
    GlobalAustin www.globalaustin.org  
    Partners of the Americas www.partners.net An international grassroots organization
Free e-books   The Gutenberg Project www.gutenberg.org 36,000+ ebooks &
100,000+ from partners in 60+ languages
Maps   Similarities & Differences in the World   Contributed by H. Keith Sterzing
Information for prospective retirees   The FLO Office

www.state.gov/m/dghr/flo/
reentry/index.htm

USA FSO retiree contacts